SUBCHAPTER 28F - ADMISSION AND DISCHARGE

SECTION .0100 - ADMISSIONS

10A NCAC 28F .0101 REGIONS FOR DIVISION INSTITUTIONAL ADMISSIONS

- (a) Except as otherwise provided in rules codified in this Chapter and Chapters 26 through 29 of this Title and except for State-wide programs and cross-regional admissions approved by the Division Director based upon the clinical need of the individual or for the purpose of accessing available beds or services, a person seeking admission to a regional institution of the Division shall be admitted only to the institution which serves the region of the state which includes the person's "county of residence" as defined in G.S. 122C-3.
- (b) For state operated hospitals and developmental centers, the regions of the state and the counties which constitute the regions are as follows:
 - (1) Western Region: Broughton Hospital, and J. Iverson Riddle Developmental Center shall serve Alleghany, Alexander, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Cherokee, Clay, Cleveland, Davidson, Gaston, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Iredell, Jackson, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mecklenburg, Mitchell, Polk, Rowan, Rutherford, Stanly, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Union, Watauga, Wilkes, Yadkin, and Yancey County;
 - (2) Central Region: Central Regional Hospital, Murdoch Developmental Center, Whitaker Psychiatric Residential Treatment Program (PRTF), and Wright School shall serve Alamance, Anson, Caswell, Chatham, Davie, Durham, Forsyth, Franklin, Granville, Guilford, Halifax, Harnett, Hoke, Lee, Montgomery, Moore, Orange, Person, Randolph, Richmond, Rockingham, Stokes, Vance, Wake, and Warren County; and
 - (3) Eastern Region: Cherry Hospital and, Caswell Developmental Center shall serve Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Hertford, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland, Tyrrell, Washington, Wayne, and Wilson County.
- (c) For state-operated Alcohol and Drug Abuse Treatment Centers (ADATCs) the regions of the state and the counties which constitute the regions are as follows:
 - (1) Western Region: Julian F. Keith ADATC shall serve Alexander, Alleghany, Anson, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Cherokee, Clay, Cleveland, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Graham, Guilford, Haywood, Henderson, Iredell, Jackson, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mecklenburg, Mitchell, Montgomery, Polk, Randolph, Rowan, Rutherford, Stanly, Stokes, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Union, Watauga, Wilkes, Yadkin, and Yancey County;
 - (2) Eastern Region: Walter B. Jones ADATC shall serve Alamance, Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Chatham, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Franklin, Gates, Granville, Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Hertford, Hoke, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Martin, Moore, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Orange, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Richmond, Robeson, Rockingham, Sampson, Scotland, Tyrrell, Vance, Wake, Warren, Washington, Wayne, and Wilson County.

History Note: Authority G.S. 122C-3; 143B-147; S.L. 2023-3;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2009; April 1, 1990; July 1, 1983;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. August 24, 2019:

Amended Eff. May 1, 2024.